You are here : UDL2020 > Organisation > Governance


The central governance will be of a new type, permitted by the French Ordinance of December 2018. It will carry the overall strategy and identity of the brand in order to ensure overall consistency. As such, it will define general policies and common charters, ensuring harmonised operations and management within the Target University. With respect to the multiyear contract and strategic planning, it will implement strategic and management dialogues with the PFRs, formalised by multiyear objectives and resources contracts
(COMs), which will be readjusted annually.

The principle of subsidiarity, which involves assigning responsibility to the level of governance most appropriate to assume it, is at the heart of the relationship between central governance and the internal structures of the Target University. It will guarantee efficient strategic management and a shared development dynamic at all levels, while respecting the autonomy of the PFRs, both in their academic fields and in the operation and management of the resources allocated to them.

The central governing bodies of the Target University are:

  • The Board (CA), a decision-making comprising two statutory boards;
  • The Executive Committee (COMEX), a collegial, executive and arbitration body;
  • An Academic Assembly, an advisory and decision-making body held in restricted form to examine issues related to individual careers.

The Target University will have a Bureau composed of the president, the vice-presidents and the president of the ENS de Lyon. This Bureau, which will meet weekly, will assist the president in the executive direction and management of the university. The director general of services will participate as a guest.

Board (CA - Conseil d'administration)

The board will meet three or four times per year and will have decision-making authority for the following issues:

  • Election of the president of the Target University;
  • Adoption of amendments to the Target University’s statutes;
  • Adoption of the Target University’s internal regulations;
  • Approval of the institutional contract;
  • Approval of the recruitment campaign, budget and financial accounts;
  • Approval of objectives and resources contracts (COMs) for the internal structures;
  • Approval of the of the Target University’s annual activity report;
  • Integration of an institution or exit of an établissement-composante.

University council (CE - Conseil d'établissement)

The CE is competent in, and can make decisions on, matters concerning the general business of the institution, the general rules of operation and management of the institution and, in a limited commission, on individual issues (outside the perimeter of the établissement-composante)

Strategic Steering Committee (COS - Conseil d'orientation stratégique)

The COS will provide the institution with external, independent competencies. It will give its opinion and make recommendations on the strategic planning of the Target University and its transformation trajectory. It will be composed of ten members from outside the Target University.

The Executive Committee (COMEX - Comité exécutif)

The COMEX embodies the collegial leadership of the Target University. It will implement the institution’s overall policy. It will participate in reflecting on and constructing the academic policy of the Target University and will be responsible for implementing its strategy and development trajectory. Through its opinions, it will contribute to the annual drafting of the objectives and resources contracts and to their monitoring. In this regard, it will help the president to prepare the strategic decisions proposed to the CE and Board.

Academic Assembly (Assemblée académique)

The Academic Assembly, divided into three committees, will be responsible for formulating opinions and recommendations on the university’s research and education strategy and will be responsible for forward-looking and analytical missions. It will generate ideas relating to student and campus life.. It convenes at least twice a year in a plenary session. It is composed it such a way as to enable a wide representation of communities, covering all the disciplinary fields.